Victory Custom Trailers CRA Junior Late Models to Crown Inaugural Champion Saturday at Anderson

Salem, Indiana (September 26, 2019): The Victory Custom Trailers CRA Junior Late Models are set to return to the fast ¼ mile at Anderson Speedway, located in Anderson, Indiana this Saturday to crown there first ever Season Champion as the 2019 Chase for the Champion will conclude with a 25 lap feature. The event will also feature the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS and the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS in 75 lap feature events.

The Victory Custom Trailers CRA Junior Late Models is a new racing series in 2019 to focus on a youth movement for short track stock car racing that will see 10 to 15-year-old drivers compete amongst themselves for both experience and recognition in full size late models with an economical drive train and suspension alternatives. Saturday’s race will be the eighth of eight scheduled races for the series in 2019.

Some of the key components for the rule package for the Victory Custom Trailers CRA Junior Late Models will be the mandated use of the $3900 factory sealed Chevrolet Performance 602 crate engine. Teams will also be utilizing less expensive rear ends, transmissions and springs and spec KONI Shocks. The series will also be racing on 8-inch steel wheels and utilizing 8-inch Hoosier Racing tires.

Luke Wilhelm came away with the victory in the inaugural 25 lap feature for the Victory Custom Trailers CRA Junior Late Models on May 18th at Birch Run Speedway. Chase Burda won four straight feature events with the series, at Baer Field Motorsports Park on July 6th at the Indianapolis Speedrome on July 14th, at Baer Field again on July 27th, and August 10th at Anderson Speedway. Charlie Keeven got his first series feature win in the series event at Corrigan Oil Speedway on August 16th. Burda went back to victory lane for his fifth win of the season in the series last event this past Saturday at Toledo Speedway.

Burda was the regular season points Champion and earned an automatic spot in the final three drivers who will race for the series Championship Saturday at Anderson Speedway. Keeven also locked himself in as one of the three drivers to compete for the Championship with his win in the first Chase for the Championship event at Corrigan Oil Speedway. The other driver competing for the Championship will be Zack Wilhelm, who was the highest driver in points during the Chase for the Championship after last weeks event at Toledo Speedway.

Katelyn Hettinger finished fourth in points, only four points behind Zack Wilhelm. Dawson Knaul was fifth in points after suffering mechanical issues at Toledo that ended his day during the first practice. Luke Wilhelm and Evan Varney both raced in the majority of the series events in 2019 but did not qualify for the Chase for the Championship.

On Saturday, pit gates open at 2:30pm. Practice will begin at 4pm. The race program is set to begin at 7pm and will include 8 lap heat races and the 25-lap Season Championship feature event for the Victory Custom Trailers CRA Junior Late Models.

More event and track information are available at

More information on all the CRA Series is available at


Glenn Luckett
Champion Racing Association
Office: (812) 883-0455
Cell: (812) 528-1622