Dells Raceway ParkPress Release

Ty Majeski wins Icebreaker 100 at Dells Raceway Park

By Stan Kalwasinski
Wisconsin Dells, Wis., April 9-Winning super late model stock car races on paved tracks throughout  the country is nothing new to Ty Majeski and he again proved he’s tough to beat as he won the third annual Icebreaker 100 at Dells Raceway Park Sunday afternoon.  Originally from Seymour, Wis., the 22-year-old Majeski, a three-time ARCA Midwest Tour champion, is currently living in the Charlotte, N.C., area being a development driver for the Roush Fenway Racing NASCAR team.
As the field came around for the start of the race, third row outside starter, Jon Reynolds Jr. experienced rear drive train problems with a bunch of competitors getting caught up in an accordion-like pile up almost halfway down the backstretch.  The cars of Reynolds, Jordan Thiel, Jim Olson, Skylar Holzhausen, Steve Litchfield, John DeAngelis Jr. and Dan Lindsley got caught up in the fracas with only DeAngelis and Lindsley coming back for the complete restart.
Pole sitter Derek Kraus and fellow front row starter Terry Schoppenhorst jockeyed for the lead at the start of the race with Schoppenhorst finally taking command.  Andrew Morrissey, who would experience power steering problems during the race, moved into the lead at about the 22-lap mark and paced the contest until Majeski, who originally lined up in the 12th position in his Toby Nuttleman-prepared Ford Fusion No. 91, came to the front with 44 laps to go.
Fastest qualifier Michael Bilderback worked his way to second place before the checkered flag fell.  Rounding out the top six were Morrissey, Natalie Decker, Chicago area champion Eddie Hoffman, who came from his 17th starting position, and Mike Litchfield with the race being slowed for four yellow flag, cauition periods.
 ”This track, historically, hasn’t been the best for us and to come out here and showcase what we have been working on during the off season is special,” Majeski said.  ”These guys have been working a lot and I haven’t been at the shop that much.  My hats off to them for working their butts off.”
With temperatures in the 70s and a good crowd in the grandstands, a field of 28 stock cars were on hand for the event at the Wayne Lensing-owned third-mile speedway with Bilderback, last year’s Rockford (Ill.) Speedway’s champion, grabbing fast time honors in his Dan Lensing-owned late model earlier in the day.
Scott Luck finished second in the Great Northern Sportsmen Series 40-lap feature to Brent Kane.  But, Kane’s car failed post-race inspection thus handing the trophy over to Luck in their season opening event.  Jason Stark was second with Dave Trute in third.
Tom Berens took home the victory in the Midwest Dash Series. Berens pulled away from the field with a restart with two laps to go in their 25-lap feature event.  George Sparkman finished second with James Junget in third.
Icebreaker 100 Finish:
Ty Majeski, Michael Bilderback, Andrew Morrissey, Natalie Decker, Eddie Hoffman, Mike Litchfield, Bobby Kendall, Terry Schoppenhorst, Jeff Storm, Anthony Danta, Dillon Hammond, Derek Kraus, John DeAngelis Jr., Wyatt Brooks, Robert Maynor, Paul Paine, Rich Schumann, Austin Nason, Gregg Pawelski, Alex Prunty, Travis Sauter, Casey Johnson, Dan Lindsley, Jon Reynolds Jr., Jordan Thiel, Jim Olson, Skylar Holzhausen, Steve Litchfield.