Tri-State USAC Sprint Race Falls to Rain

#32 Chase Stockon (Fort Branch, Ind.) captured Fatheadz Eyewear Fast Qualifying time at Tri-State Saturday night.
(Rich Forman Photo)
By: Richie Murray - USAC Media
Haubstadt, Indiana (June 30, 2019).........Following the first heat of Sunday's USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship race from Tri-State Speedway, the skies opened up, drenching the ¼-mile dirt oval and forcing cancellation of the event.

Prior to the downpour, in Fatheadz Eyewear Qualifying, Chase Stockon (Fort Branch, Ind.) set quick time with a lap of 13.618, moving him into a tie for 11th on the series all-time list and equaling him with Dave Steele and Kevin Thomas, Jr.

Kendall Ruble (Vincennes, Ind.) captured the victory in the first heat race under darkening and threatening skies before the rain hit.

The series returns to action this Friday and Saturday, July 5-6, at Iowa's Knoxville Raceway with the inaugural BRANDT Professional Agriculture "Corn Belt Nationals," which culminates with a $20,000-to-win prize going to the winner of Saturday's finale.


USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE RESULTS: June 30, 2019 - Tri-State Speedway - Haubstadt, Indiana - 1/4-Mile Dirt Oval

FATHEADZ EYEWEAR QUALIFYING:  1. Chase Stockon, 32, 32 TBI-13.618; 2. Kyle Cummins, 3R, Rock Steady-13.703; 3. C.J. Leary, 19AZ, Reinbold/Underwood-13.737; 4. Tyler Courtney, 7BC, Clauson/Marshall/Newman-13.847; 5. Kevin Thomas, Jr., 19, Hayward/Thomas-13.860; 6. Justin Grant, 4, TOPP-13.895; 7. Jason McDougal, 71p, Daigh/Phillips-13.908; 8. Stephen Schnapf, 61m, Edwards-13.931; 9. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-13.933; 10. Carson Short, 21, RCM-14.033; 11. Chris Windom, 5G, Goacher-14.040; 12. Garrett Aitken, 32A, Aitken-14.063; 13. Kendall Ruble, 17, Ruble-14.075; 14. Brian Karraker, 23, Karraker-14.090; 15. Chet Williams, 38, Williams-14.216; 16. Jarett Andretti, 18, Andretti-14.235; 17. Isaac Chapple, 52, LNR/Chapple-14.236; 18. Dakota Jackson, 3, Jackson-14.250; 19. Brady Short, 11p, Short/Pottorff-14.306; 20. Donny Brackett, 4B, Brackett-14.511; 21. Brian VanMeveren, 24, VanMeveren-14.533; 22. Kent Schmidt, 5K, KO-14.591; 23. Aric Gentry, 10, Gentry-14.637; 24. Dave Darland, 42, Cheney-14.644; 25. Dustin Christie, 75, Christie-14.727; 26. Collin Ambrose, 36, Ambrose-14.949; 27. Ryan Bond, 7R, Bond-15.577; 28. Chayse Hayhurst, 20, Hayhurst-15.654; 29. Patrick Budde, 90, Budde-15.692; 30. Kyle Hathaway, 7H, 15.790; 31. Eric Perrott, 45, Perrott-16.005.

SIMPSON RACE PRODUCTS FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Ruble, 2. Stockon, 3. Bacon, 4. K. Thomas, 5. Chapple, 6. Christie, 7. VanMeveren, 8. Budde. NT


NEW USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP POINTS: 1-Leary-776, 2-Courtney-716, 3-Stockon-711, 4-Windom-710, 5-K. Thomas-700, 6-Bacon-670, 7-Grant-642, 8-Short-595, 9-McDougal-581, 10-Robert Ballou-568.

NEXT USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE: July 5-6, 2019 - Knoxville Raceway - Knoxville, Iowa - BRANDT Professional Agriculture "Corn Belt Nationals" - ½-Mile Dirt Oval