Sycamore Speedway Saturday Night; Recap,Photos by Stan Kalwasinski

Sycamore Speedway
Maple Park, Illinois
May 26, 2018

Hatton and Spoonmore win at Sycamore

By Stan Kalwasinski

Maple Park, Ill., May 26—Scott Hatton and Jeremy Spoonmore were among the feature winners Saturday night at the Sycamore Speedway as the northern Illinois raceway celebrated its 55th anniversary.

Hatton, from Roscoe, Ill., won the 25-lap Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Racing Series feature. With the open-wheel Badger midgets making their first appearance of the year at the third-of-a-mile dirt oval, the event was co-sanctioned with the POWRi Lucas Oil Regional Midget Series.

Hatton, a four-time Badger midget champion, wheeled his Pepsi-sponsored, Honda-powered No. 1 midget to the victory in a race the saw a field of 23 take the green flag.  Chasing Hatton at the checkered flag were Tyler Baran, last year’s Illini Racing Series champion Ryan Probst, veteran Kurt Mayhew, Alex Watson and Zach Boden.

Spoonmore, who hails from Somonauk, was the winner of the 16-car, 30-lap late model stock car feature race.  Scoring his second feature win of the year, Spoonmore and his No. 22 late model defeated early race leader Dave Engelkins, Jeff Kerley, Corey Trump, Jeff Schulze and Phil Grutsch.  Fastest qualifier Greg Cantrell Jr. looked to be in a position to win the feature until he was sent to the pits with a fuel leak.

Zach “Zuby” Zuberbier of Kingston was the winner of the 20-lap Street Stock division main event as he bested Austin Runge and David Richards.  Stacy Doris of Genoa continued her winning ways as she captured the 10-lap Pure Stocks feature in a very close finish over Matt Starai.  Michael Terzo was third.  Johnny Lovett of DeKalb came home the winner in the 10-lap Hornets (four-cylinder) division feature race ahead of Rick Zifko and Jeff Hooker.