Photo GalleryPress ReleaseSycamore Speedway

Sycamore Speedway June 5; Stan Kalwasinski Photos/Recap

Sycamore Speedway

Maple Park, Illinois

Cantrell and Neuman winners at Sycamore

By Stan Kalwasinski

June 5, 2021

Maple Park, Ill., June 5—Stock car racing and midget auto racing were on tap at the Sycamore Speedway Saturday evening with Greg Cantrell Jr. (stock cars) and Jake Neuman (midgets) among the night’s winners.

Cantrell of DeKalb, Ill., won the 25-lap super late model main event and is now two for two in division feature action.  Cantrell, champion at the third-mile, clay oval, the past two years, wheeled John Newbolds’ No. 401 late model to the win.  After battling Jeremy Spoonmore for the top spot, Cantrell raced to the checkered flag ahead of fastest qualifier Joe Monk, Spoonmore, Glen Toppel, Matt Ramer and Tony Provenzano.

Neuman, 23-year-old racer from New Berlin, Ill., came home the winner of the Badger Midget Auto Racing Association (BMARA) 25-lap headliner.  Starting inside row two in the 21-car field, Neuman used the high groove to get the job done and drove the Bill Ecker-owned, Mazda-powered, Howard Law/Advanced Fastening Supply-sponsored No. 57 to the win – his first of the year in BMARA competition and only his second series career win.

Trailing Neuman at the finish were two-time and defending Badger champion Chase McDermand, Adam Taylor, Jeff Zelinski, fastest qualifier Nick Baran and Kyle Stark.  Baran’s lap of 16.406 seconds was the fastest among the 28 entries on hand.

“The track was really slick,” said Neuman.  “You had to use the top groove to keep up your momentum and be here (for the win).  There was a little bit of moisture up there and you got a little bite.  It was real slick but it brings the driver out in you.”

Neuman, McDermand and Taylor were eight-lap heat race winners with Zelinski capturing the eight-lap non-qualifiers race.  Andy Baugh claimed top honors in the 12-lap “B” feature, defeating Zelinski, Kyle Koch and Denny Smith.

Joining Cantrell in the undefeated stock car feature winners’ ranks were Zach Zuberbier and Tim Provenzano.  With the evening’s races only the second night of action at the Sycamore speed plant, Zuberbier of Kingston, Ill., won the 16-car/20-lap street stock feature race ahead of Dave Dulceak, Chad Puffer, John Hintzsche, Joel Hernandez and Tim Loomis.

Provenzano, from Streator, Ill., the son of longtime area late model driver and champion, John Provenzano, scored his second win of the year, taking the 15-lap pure stock feature ahead of John Dietrich III, Stacy Doris, Mike Nelms and Michael Lofgren.