Photo GalleryPress ReleaseSycamore Speedway

Sycamore Speedway Badger Midgets; Stan Kalwasinski recap/photos

Neuman captures Badger Midget Opener

By Stan Kalwasinski

Maple Park, Ill., May 7—Kicking off its 86th year of midget racing competition, the AFS Badger Midget Series visited the Sycamore Speedway here Saturday night for the series’ season opener with Jake Neuman scoring the victory in the opening 25-lap headliner of the season.

Hailing from New Berlin, Ill., Neuman, a Badger midget feature winner at Sycamore last year, wheeled the RAB Racing, Howard Law/Advanced Fastening Supply-sponsored No. 57 to the victory at the third-mile dirt oval.

Charging into the number one spot during the first lap, the 24-year-old Neuman built a half-lap lead at one point during the race, which saw the yellow flag fly three times.

Neuman took the checkered flag in front of Tyler Baran and fast qualifier Kyle Stark.  Jeff Zelinski, Mike Stroik and Daltyn England rounded out the top six in the 22-car field.

“The car was fast and I had a half lap lead,” said Neuman, who was rushing off to race in the IRA sprint car feature, which closed out a night of open-wheel racing at the speedway located west of Chicago.

Aaron Schuck won the 12-lap Badger B feature with eight lap heat races going to Zelinski, Jack Rouston, who also wheeled an IRA sprinter during the evening, and feature winner Neuman.  Adam Taylor captured the eight lap non-qualifiers race.

The finish:

Jake Neuman, Tyler Baran, Kyle Stark, Jeff Zelinski, Mike Stroik, Daltyn England, Zach Boden, Jake Dohner, Mike Unger, Dave Collins Jr., RJ Corson, Aaron Muhle, Jim Jones, Adam Taylor, Charles Rufi, Jordan Nelson, Andy Baugh, Jack Rouston, Harrison Kleven, Todd Kluever, Nick Baron, Chris Adrien