South Bend Speedway “Illiana Night”; Stan Kalwasinski Recap/Photos

South Bend Motor Speedway
South Bend, Indiana

August 18, 2018

Boal, Smith and Brown – Winners at South Bend on “Illiana Night”

By Stan Kalwasinski

South Bend, Ind., August 18—Rich Boal, Rodney Smith and Danny Brown Jr. were among feature winners during stock car racing action at the South Bend Motor Speedway Saturday night.  125 cars packed the pits at the high-banked, quarter-mile paved oval.  The evening was dubbed “Illiana Reunion Night” as competitors, officials and fans from the now-closed Illiana Motor Speedway in Schererville, Ind., gathered to reminisce and renew acquaintances.

Boal, the veteran speedster from Plymouth, wheeled his No. 22 to victory in the 40-lap main event for outlaw late models.  Boal established a big lead from the outset only to see the race’s one and only yellow flag fly with 36 laps complete.  Boal held onto the lead after the restart and went on to claim the win in front of Cory Pressler, points leader Charlie Hanna, Kevin Sauer, Vern Sauer and Don Lindemulder.

Smith of Elkhart won the (late model) sportsman 30 lapper, helping him build on his division points lead.  Smith worked the outside groove to take the top spot and bested Mike Horvath, Tony Chapman, AJ Lubelski and Aaron Zimmerman at the checkered flag.  Three yellow flag caution periods slowed the action.

A field of 14 took the green flag for the 25-lap street stock main event.  Brown, second in the points going into the night’s competition, scored the win ahead of Derek Wunder, who led a number of laps during the race.  Finishing behind the top two were Chad McGinnis, Rich Hensley, rookie driver Terrence Hesters and Boal, who leads the division standings.

The 20-lap FWD (Front Wheel Drive) division feature race was won by James Trussell as he defeated Corey Woods and Marc Gross.  Jerime Damron claimed top honors in the 20-lap mini stock division main event, finishing ahead of Paul Bittle and Jason Cogswell.  Ryan Anglemyer was the winner of the 20-lap Hornets (four-cylinder) division feature with Joe Moeglin and Jason Morehead chasing Anglemyer at the finish.

Other main event winners during the night included: Doug Fox (street stock B feature), Matthew Plencner (street stock C feature), Kyle Royster (FWD B feature), David Britton (Hornets B feature) and Victoria Wolkens (Hornets C feature).

Two special heat races for former Illiana drivers were held with Michael Gerike (eight-cylinder class) and Kyle Royster (four-cylinder class) scoring the wins.