Photo GalleryPress ReleaseSouth Bend Motor Speedway

South Bend Motor Speedway; Recap/Photos by Stan Kalwasinski

August 12, 2017
Brian Ross wins Late Model feature at South Bend/
Austin Woodcox captures 50 lap Street Stock main
By Stan Kalwasinski

South Bend, Ind., August 12—Veteran racer Brian Ross of Plymouth, Ind.,  was the winner of the 40-lap feature race for outlaw late model stock cars at South Bend Motor Speedway Saturday night.

Setting fast time during qualifications earlier in the evening, “Flyin’ Brian” took over the lead after newcomer Phil Martin and Brandyn Ross led the way.  Building a comfortable margin as he raced to the checkered flag, Ross finished ahead of Brandyn Ross, Rich Boal, Cory Pressler and division points leader Charlie Hanna.

Austin Woodcox claimed top honors in the 50-lap main event for Street Stock division competitors.  With about three laps to go, Woodcox passed fastest qualifier Andrew DeVreese for the top spot.  At the finish, it was Woodcox over Brian Ross, DeVreese, Doug Fox and Eric Kiser.

Roger Northrop won the 30-lap Sportsman class feature race over points leader Rodney Smith, Jeff Stetler and Nick Stremme.  A red flag-causing crash knocked both Matt Mauer and Kyle O’Dell out of the race with O’Dell’s car suffering considerable damage.

The Front Wheel Drive (FWD), four-cylinder division saw Eryn Hartz capture the 20-lap division headliner over David Schieber and Ronnie Holaway.  Jason Morehead claimed top honors in the 20-lap Hornets (four-cylinder) feature.  Morehead defeated David Britton and class points leader Rick Homan.

The visiting Illini Midget Series saw Jordan Caskey win the 30-lap open-wheel main event.  Caskey took the checkered flag in front of last year’s series titlist Scott Koerner, Ryan Finley and Taylor Fenske.