Shadyhill Speedway Sept. 7; Recap/Photos by Stan Kalwasinski

Allen grabs UMP Modified Win at Shadyhill
Shelhart claims $500 4-Banger Feature
TJ Larson $1,000 Richer 

By Stan Kalwasinski

Medaryville, Ind., September 7—Nick Allen took advantage of several yellow flags and made the most of the restarts as he drove to victory in the 20-lap feature race for DIRTcar UMP modifieds at Shadyhill Speedway Saturday night.

Chasing early race leader Beau DeYoung, who had built a considerable lead only to see yellow flags wipe it away, Allen charged by DeYoung on a restart, using the high groove to get the lead and the eventual victory.

The 36-year-old Wheatfield, Ind., driver, an eight-time modified champion at the quarter-mile, dirt speedway, wheeled his L and D Farms/Dan Lewis & Son Trucking-sponsored No. 21 modified to his second win of the year.  Allen held off current division points leader and last year’s track champion Jamie Lomax for the victory with Dylan Caldwell, Kevin DeYoung and Brad DeYoung rounding out the top five.  Brad DeYoung, a former two-time Shadyhill modified titlist, fought his way back through the field after being involved in an early race tangle.

“There’s a lot of games being played here on the restarts,” said Allen.  “I don’t agree with it but it worked out for us tonight.  I found a little rubber being put down in the middle (groove) early on in the race.  I kept working the middle.  I was taking the outside (for the restarts).  I felt the middle was really the place to be.  You could carry some good momentum and stay in the rubber.  There was a little grip there.”

Brandon Shelhart of Knox, Ind., was the winner of the special $500-to-win 50-lap main event for the 4-Bangers division.  The 28-year-old racer drove his four-cylinder Ford Mustang to his third win of the season.  Maintaining a full straightaway lead most of the time, Shelhart defeated Jake Straka, Rick Zifko, Harley Sutton and Ryan Lagastee.

Josh Knebel of Francisville, Ind., grabbed his first career Pro Late Models feature win, getting by early race leader Jace Owens on a restart.  Owens finished second, followed by Torin Mettille, Kyle Cooper and Nick Pasek.  Cooper, who is battling Mettille for the division points lead, drove Mitch Bailey’s car in the feature after damaging his own car in an earlier heat race.

Preston Oberle of Battleground, Ind., just keeps on winning in the Bomber division as he posted his 10th feature win in a row.  Now having a total of 11 victories, Oberle bested Paul Minter, Trevor Bitterling, Robert Drangmeister and Chris Joseph in the 15-lap headliner.

Leading the division standings, Cameron Shidler of Winamac, Ind., now a senior at West Central High School, captured the 20-lap I-Mod class feature race.  Winning for the ninth time this season, Shidler took the checkered flag in front of Lane Jackson, Dan Marshall, Richard Gynn and Don Stone.

Rensselaer native TJ Larson closed out the night by capturing the $1,000 “Bomber Bonus” as he finished in front of Preston Oberle and Robert Drangmeister in the event that was open only to top Bomber division competitors.