Raintree 100 at Mt. Lawn Speedway up Next for the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman

Salem, IN (June 25, 2020) – The Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS will be back in action this Sunday at Mt. Lawn Speedway, located in New Castle, Indiana for the 47th running of the Norton Transport Raintree 100. After having several events postponed or canceled because of the COVID 19 pandemic, the series began its 2020 season on June 6th at Anderson Speedway were veteran Tommy Cook came away with the win over a tough group of competitors.

The Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman had the honor of helping revive a Central Indiana tradition in the Raintree 100 in 2018, which was ran at Mt. Lawn Speedway from 1971 through the 2013 season. Morristown, Indiana’s Jeff Marcum, the Raintree 100 winner in 2011 and 2012, was the only former event winner in the field in 2018, and he didn’t disappoint the large group of Marcum Racing fans on hand that Sunday evening to watch their favorite driver win his third Raintree 100 over 2007 series Champion Billy Hutson.

In the 2019 Raintree 100, 2019 series Champion Zachary Tinkle put on a clinic in coming away with his biggest win to date in holding off Marcum, leading the last 90 laps, to win the Raintree 100. That win helped him get in the Chase for the Championship and ultimately the 2019 series Championship.

Cook comes into Sunday’s event as the series point’s leader. Series rookie Tanner Jack is in second place, three points behind Cook. Austin Coe is in third place, three points behind Jack. Tony Dager is in fourth place, two points behind Coe. Rookie Chris Jennings is in fifth place, he is two points behind Dager.

Marcum tops the list of entries for Sunday’s Norton Transport Raintree 100, as he looks for his fourth win in the event. Other top CRA Late Model Sportsman drivers entered includes former series Champions Billy Hutson and Tony Brutti, also Austin Coe, Brian Demland, Kent Carson, James Butler, R.J. Norton Jr., Danny Adams, Cory Adams and series rookie competitors Tanner Jack, Chris Jennings, Brian Janes and Andy Jennings.

Other possible entries include Eddie Van Meter, Ronnie Rose, J.P. Crabtree, Brian Morrow, and Kevin Gross.

Pit Gates open on Sunday at 12:30pm. The CRA Late Model Sportsman will have two practice sessions starting at 2:30pm. Allstar Performance Qualifying is set to begin at 5:30pm. The race program will begin at 6pm and will include the Norton Transport Raintree 100 for the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman Powered by JEGS. Also racing Sunday will be the Mt. Lawn Modifieds, Thunder Cars, Stock Compacts, Crown Vics and Vintage Sprint Cars. There will also a giant Fireworks show after the races.

More event and track information can be found at www.mtlawn.com.

Information on all the CRA Series is available at www.cra-racing.com.


Glenn Luckett
Champion Racing Association
Office: (812) 883-0455
Cell: (812) 528-1622