Race One of the Cowboy, Come Canning & Distillery Four Crown at Anderson Speedway Saturday

Salem, IN (June 22, 2022) – Race one of the Cowboy, Come Canning & Distillery Four Crown mini-series for the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS is set to take place this Saturday at Anderson Speedway. Saturday’s event will be 150 green-flag laps with a break at lap 75 and pay the winner $3,000.

The Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stock Four Crown mini-series began in 2015 as a three-race mini-series and has taken many iterations in its history. Jason Atkinson has won the Four Crown title five times, with those championships coming in 2015, 2016, 2019, 2020 and again in 2021. Chuck Barnes Jr. and Jacob McElfresh have also claimed titles.

The first event of the 2022 Four Crown mini-series was scheduled for April 30th at Shadybowl Speedway but was cancelled because of weather. The third event will be at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park on Saturday, July 30th as part of the Circle City 200, also featuring the ARCA/CRA Super Series in twin 100 lap events. The 150 lap Four Crown Championship event will be held on Saturday, August 13th at Anderson Speedway.

In addition to the $3000 minimum to win for each event, there will be a Points Champion from the events who will receive a $2000 bonus in 2022, up from a $1,000 in previous years, thanks to Cowboy, Come Canning & Distillery. Second in points will receive a $600 bonus, third place a $400 bonus, then there will be two $250 bonuses from a random draw from the cars that attended all four events. Each of the Four Crown Series events will be 4 tire races, all four will have a halfway break to add fuel and make adjustments. Each Four Crown event winner and the overall Champion will receive a specially designed buckle from Crumrine Buckle Manufacturing.

The Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks have had four events to date in the 2022 season, Shawn Amor picked up the win in the series special non-points event with SpeedFest 2022 at Watermelon Capital Speedway in January. Jason Atkinson picked up the win in the series points opener at Shadybowl Speedway on April 3rd as part of the Cabin Fever event. Josh Poore picked up the win in the series event at Anderson Speedway on April 16th. Andrew Teepe picked up the win in the series last event on June 12th at Mt. Lawn Speedway.

Three-time series Champion Atkinson and leading series rookies Blaine Akin and Dalton Conner come into this weekend’s event tied as the series points leaders. 2021 series Rookie of the Year Dawson Phillips is in fourth place, he is four points behind the three leaders. Teepe is in fifth place, he is 63 points behind Phillips.

A stellar field of 26 drivers is already entered for Saturday night’s Tom Wood Honda 150 Presented by Sherwin-Williams Four Crown event topped by Atkinson who is seeking his sixth Four Crown Championship and is the defending winner of this event. Former Four Crown Champion and multiple Four Crown event winner Chuck Barnes Jr. is also entered along with multiple Four Crown event winner Brett Hudson and Josh Poore, the winner of the April 16th series event at Anderson and a former multi-time Anderson Street Stock Champion.

Other top CRA drivers entered include Akin, Conner, Dawson Phillips, Teepe, Hunter King, 2018 series Champion James Kirby, Ryan Amonett, J.P. Crabtree, Dylan Hoppes, Nathan Greene, Kimmie Grieg, Calvin Parham, Alan Williams Jr., Troy Phillips, Chad Pendleton, Josh Sage, Marcus Elliott, Austin Maynard, Frankie Oakes, Dillon Oliver, Sammy Sanders and Mike Kestler.

There will be an optional open practice at Anderson Speedway this Friday from 4:30 to 7:30pm.

On Saturday pit gates open at 2:30pm. Practice will begin at 4pm with qualifying beginning at 5:45pm. The race program is set to begin at 7:30pm and will include the Tom Wood Honda 150 Presented by Sherwin-Williams Cowboy, Come Canning & Distillery Four Crown event for the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks. Also racing that night will be the Anderson Speedway ThunderCars and Crown Vics along with the Thunder Roadsters.

More event and track information can be found at www.andersonspeedway.com.

Additional information on all the CRA Series is available at www.cra-racing.com.


Glenn Luckett
Champion Racing Association
Office: (812) 883-0455
Cell: (812) 528-1622