Lincoln Park Speedway; Story/Results by Carey Fox

Litton claims first bomber win at Lincoln Park Speedway

PUTNAMVILLE — Bloomington’s James Walters kept his red hot streak in the UMP Modified ranks alive Saturday night with his third straight win on the Lincoln Park Speedway dirt surface. The win was his fifth of the season in what has become a breakout season for Walters, who held off Jay Humphrey Jr. and Jake Humphrey for the victory.

Former 410 sprint car points champion Ethan Barrow returned with the 305 winged Race Saver sprint car series and roared to a dominating victory. The victory made Barrow two-for-two with the series at LPS as he won in the first appearance the Race Saver series made at the track back in May as well.

Ethan Litton picked up his first bomber feature win at LPS as he made a late pass of Cody Wright to take home the win. Bryce Shidler was a winner in the UMP Super Stock main event over Wes McClara.

The UMP Modified feature took several attempts to get underway with a couple of quick caution flags that delayed the start. However, there wasn’t much to stop Walters once he got rolling under green. He got a strong run off the opening flag and set the pace for the rest of the field. Jay and Jake Humphrey were left to run for the runner-up spot as the brothers scrapped to make up ground on the leader by running the top along with Travis Shoulders.

By lap 10, Walters had stretched his advantage out to a full straightaway lead with Jay Humphrey running second ahead of Jake with Jake Leitzman rolling on the outside ahead of Shoulders and Jeff Deckard.

A caution flag brought the field back to Walters for one last restart with five laps remaining. However, it came as no solace to the rest of the field as Walters got a good run off the top of turn four as the field took the green flag. He didn’t look back as he rebuilt a comfortable lead on his way to the victory. Jay Humphrey held off his brother over the final few circuits as Deckard took fourth and Tyler Loughmiller ran fifth.

In the UMP Super Stock feature, Shidler started on the pole and never relinquished the top position as McClara gave chase for the duration of the 20-lap A-main event. Larry Raines ran a distant third with five laps in the books with the lead duo stretching out their lead. Scott Ricketts chased Raines ahead of Steve Hollars and Matt Jordan.

Shidler had caught lapped traffic on the seventh lap, which might have given McClara a shot at challenging the leader, but a caution flag came out and re-set the field once again. With plenty of open air in front of him on the restart, Shidler kept the hammer down, running an error free final 13 laps on the way to the win. McClara took home second ahead of Raines, Jack Frye, Hollars and Jordan.

The final race of the evening provided plenty of joy for the Litton family from Paragon, Ind.

Ethan Litton had been knocking on the door of a breakthrough moment for the past month and was able to claim a heat race win a week ago. On Saturday night he finally knocked down the wall as he ran nose to tail with multi-time 2018 feature winner Cody Wright. Litton bided his time over several cautions early in the race. Wright was running well through the middle of the track and Litton went top side to run the cushion mid-race and found a line that he liked.

Litton pulled even with Wright on lap 12 and one lap later he found the momentum line he needed one lane higher than Wright through turns three and four. Litton throttled up and edged ahead of Wright coming out of turn four with two laps to go. Wright wasn’t going to give up easily however as he stayed right on Litton’s bumper as the duo took the white flag.

With his first win just one lap to go, Litton wasn’t fazed as he held off Wright at the finish line with Keivan Clodfelter running third ahead of Ben Daniel and Matt Raber.

Thursday night will feature a special show as Indiana Sprint Week makes its LPS appearance with the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car series on hand along with UMP Modifieds.

Lincoln Park Speedway

305 Winged Sprints feature

1. Ethan Barrow, 2. Anton Hernandez, 3. Brandon Long, 4. Jeff Wimmenaver,. 5. Damon Fortune, 6. Andy Bradley, 7. Luke Bland, 8. John Paynter Jr. 9. Kevin Champoux, 10. Danny Clark, 11. Aaron Carlson, 12. Jackson Slone, 13. Bob Shutt, 14. Patrick Kren, 15. Baden Stewart. 16. Coleman Chasteen

UMP Modified feature

1. James Walters, 2. Jay Humphrey Jr., 3. Jake Humphrey, 4. Jeff Deckard, 5. Tyler Loughmiller, 6. Jake Leitzman, 7. Brent Hudson, 8. Don Kiger, 9. Rob Brickert, 10. Travis Shoulders, 11. Sydney Landes, 12. James Grider, 13. Derek Groomer, 14. Donnie Boyer, 15. Carlos Bumgardener, 16. Jimmy Hayden, 17. Dustin Bruce

UMP Super Stock feature

1. Bryce Shidler. 2. Wes McClara, 3. Larry Raines, 4. Jack Frye, 5. Steve Hollars, 6. Matt Jordan, 7. Doug McCullough, 8. Paul Wright, 9. Austin Phelps, 10. Kenny Fields, 11. Scott Ricketts, 12. Jonny Newgent, 13. Jason Hehman, 14. Shelburn Meeks Jr., 15. Jack Campbell, 16. Hayden Rogers, 17. Michael Clark, 18. Michael O’Conner, 19. James Hodges, 20. Gary Long Sr.

Bomber feature

1. Ethan Litton, 2. Cody Wright, 3. Keivan Clodfelter, 4. Ben Daniel, 5. Matt Raber, 6. David Bumgardner, 7. Barry Hicks, 8. Tom Cox, 9. Jordan Almanza, 10. David Wallen, 11. Glen Ogden, 12. Megan Cavaness, 13. Jeff Allen, 14. Tim Wright, 15. Gary Hayden, 16. Josh Litton, 17. Devin Wallen, 18. Corey Anstead, 19. Bob Farris, 20. Travis Heramb