CRA Racing SeriesPress ReleaseShadybowl SpeedwayUpcoming Events

Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stock Five Crown Series Event Number One at Shadybowl Speedway Saturday

Event is 2018 Series Season Opener


Salem, IN (April 17, 2017) – The Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS kick off their 2018 season this Saturday at Shadybowl Speedway, located in De Graff, Ohio, after losing their season opener at Lucas Oil Raceway and the series second event of the season at Anderson Speedway to weather. Saturday’s Shadybowl 200 will be the first event of the 2018 Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stock Five Crown Series, that will feature five 200 lap, $3000 minimum to win events. The other four events in the newly expanded Five Crown series will be at Mt. Lawn Speedway on Sunday, May 6, at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, June 16th, at Kentucky Motor Speedway on Sunday, July 15th and the Five Crown Series Championship event, which will be at Winchester Speedway on Sunday, August 5th.

The CRA Street Stocks had a very popular Triple Crown Series from 2014 through 2016 with the events at Shadybowl Speedway, Kentucky Motor Speedway and Anderson Speedway. That series was expanded to the Four Crown Series for 2017 with the addition of the 200 lap event at Winchester Speedway. Chuck Barnes Jr. was the 2017 Four Crown Series Champion, winning at Shadybowl, Kentucky and Winchester. Brett Hudson won the Four Crown event at Anderson. Hudson was the Triple Crown Series Champion in 2016, while Jason Atkinson won the Triple Crown Series Championship in 2014 and 2015.

In addition to the $3000 minimum to win for each event, there will be a Points Champion from the five events who will receive a $1000 bonus. Second in points will receive a $600 bonus, third place a $400 bonus, then there will be two $250 bonuses from a random draw from the cars that attended all five events. Each of the Five Crown Series events except Winchester will be 4 tire races, all five will have a break at lap 100 to add fuel and make adjustments. Each Five Crown event winner and the overall Champion will receive a specially designed buckle from Crumrine Buckle Manufacturing.

Saturday’s race is the first race in the CRA Street Stocks “Road to Bristol”, Saturday’s winner and second place finishers will have a guaranteed start at the Short Track U. S. Nationals presented by Vore’s Welding at Bristol Motor Speedway in the CRA Street Stock A Feature, if they are CRA members and race in the final CRA Street Stocks “Road to Bristol” event at Mt. Lawn Speedway on May 6th.

2018 will be the series 14th season of competition. Past champions include Dean Baker in the inaugural 2005 season, Joe Beaver in 2006, 2007 and 2009, Bret Miles in 2008, Steve Christman in 2010, Jeff Lane in 2011, Jimmy Kirby in 2012, Dustin Burge in 2013, Jason Atkinson in 2014 and 2015, and Colby Lane the 2017 series Champion.

There is an open practice scheduled for Friday from 1pm until dark. The track announced a revised schedule of events on Monday for Saturday’s event, Pit Gates now open at 12:30pm. Practice is set to begin at 2:30pm with qualifying at 4:30pm. The race program will begin at 6pm and will include the Spring Fever 200 for the Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks. Also in action will be the Vores Compact Touring Series.

More event and track information is available at

For more information on Champion Racing Association and the Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks visit