Kokomo to Decide 2021 USAC Indiana Midget Week Champion on Saturday

JUNE 9, 2021
Petry Motorsports teammates, #5 Kevin Thomas Jr. & #15 Emerson Axsom.
(Travis Branch Photo)
By: Richie Murray – USAC Media

Kokomo, Indiana (June 9, 2021)………The championship decider for USAC’s Indiana Midget Week comes down to the one and only Kokomo Speedway this Saturday night, June 12, to cap off the eighth and final race of the 2021 mini-series for the USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midgets.

The track has been conducive to producing some of the most spectacular moments and finishes in Indiana Midget Week history, with the most recent of those coming just last year.

Tanner Thorson’s charge late in the going allowed him to score a narrow victory in the Kokomo IMW round of 2020. The 2016 USAC National Midget champion who hails from Minden, Nev. finished 7th at Kokomo’s IMW that same year, was 8th in 2014 and 9th in 2017.

Kevin Thomas Jr. (Cullman, Ala.) has secured multiple USAC National Midget feature wins at Kokomo in his career, including a last lap victory during the Kokomo Grand Prix in 2019, which followed up a stirring drive in the 2018 Indiana Midget Week race in which he reigned victorious. The 2016 Kokomo Sprint Car track champion also owns three USAC National Sprint Car wins at Kokomo.

Brady Bacon’s success at Kokomo dates back to 2006 where he was the victor of his first career USAC National Midget race during IMW at the age of 16. The Broken Arrow, Okla. driver’s list of accomplishments at the 1/4-mile dirt oval spans more than a decade-and-a-half with a two-night sweep of the Kokomo Grand Prix in 2017 and recently locking up the 2020 sprint car track championship. In IMW at Kokomo, the three-time USAC National Sprint Car titlist has been the fast qualifier in 2008, and finished 4th in 2016, 5th in 2017, 6th in 2013 and 2018, and 10th in 2014.

Like Bacon, Emerson Axsom (Franklin, Ind.) burst onto the scene with a first career USAC National Midget victory at Kokomo, doing so earlier this year on April 30. For the 16-year-old, it was just his second career start in any type of car at Kokomo Speedway.

Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.) followed up the next night on May 1 of this year with his second career win in USAC National Midget competition at Kokomo. In fact, he’s now won two of the last three series races at the track, having won last September’s Double Double. The 2010 and 2018 Kokomo Sprint Car track champ owns three USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car wins at Kokomo. His Kokomo IMW resume includes a 3rd in 2020, 5th in 2012, 6th in 2011 and 10th in 2008. Windom also possesses a USAC Regional Midget win at Kokomo from 2016.

Thomas Meseraull (San Jose, Calif.) won the USAC Regional Midget portion of the Kokomo Klash in 2020. He’s the owner of three career USAC National Sprint Car wins at the track and has finished inside the top-ten during Indiana Midget Week at Kokomo on two occasions, 9th in both 2010 and 2020.

Justin Grant (Ione, Calif.) is a two-time track champion at Kokomo in 2017 and 2019, owning a single USAC National Sprint Car win to his credit. He also collected a Kokomo sprint car victory at BC’s Indiana Double in late May. The reigning USAC Silver Crown champ turned in a best Kokomo IMW performance of 4th in 2017.

Logan Seavey (Sutter, Calif.) has seen success as both a USAC National Midget champ (2018) and an Indiana Midget Week champ (2019). He also knows success at Kokomo, having won a USAC National Sprint Car race there in 2019 and a 3rd place finish during the Indiana Midget Week round of his championship season in 2018.

Kyle Cummins (Princeton, Ind.) has racked up three career USAC National Sprint Car victories at Kokomo, including his first in 2016. He recently debuted in USAC National Midget victory lane with his first win with the series last Sunday at Tri-State Speedway. At Kokomo during 2020 IMW, Cummins finished an impressive 5th and recently took the checkered again at Kokomo with a May Sprint Car win during the Kokomo Grand Prix.

Returning Kokomo Indiana Midget Week starters ready to rock in this Saturday’s finale include Broken Arrow, Oklahoma’s Jason McDougal (3rd in 2018); Royersford, Pennsylvania’s Steve Buckwalter (8th in 2008 & 2011); Penngrove, California’s Buddy Kofoid (10th in 2020); St. Peters, Missouri’s Sam Johnson (11th in 2018); Bixby, Oklahoma’s Cannon McIntosh (12th in 2020); Locust Grove, Oklahoma’s Daison Pursley (15th in 2020); Muskogee, Oklahoma’s Kaylee Bryson (17th in 2020); Rossville, Indiana’s Cole Bodine (18th in 2020); Mooresville, North Carolina’s Ethan Mitchell (19th in 2020); and Olathe, Kansas’ Tyler Nelson (20th in 2016 & 2018).

An impressive crop of first-time Indiana Midget Week competitors are set to finish out their first experience with the eight-race series in 2021, some of whom do have a bit of Kokomo USAC Midget experience in last September’s event. Brenham Crouch (Lubbock, Texas) was 12th; Bryant Wiedeman (Colby, Kan.) was 14th; Chase Randall (Waco, Texas) was 19th; and Hayden Reinbold (Gilbert, Ariz.) was 22nd.

They’ll be joined by first-time Kokomo competitors Brian Carber (Lewisberry, Pa.), Trey Gropp (Lincoln, Neb.), Corey Day (Clovis, Calif.), Hayden Williams (Auckland, N.Z.), Chance Crum (Snohomish, Wash.), Blake Brannon (Morgan Hill, Calif.) and more.

Saturday’s Indiana Midget Week round at Kokomo Speedway will feature the USAC NOS Energy Drink Midget National Championship and the Kokomo Sprint Cars.

You can save $5 with purchase of advance tickets at www.TracPass.com. Tickets and pit passes will also be sold at the gate where general admission tickets are $30, kids aged 12 and under are free. Pit passes are $35.

Pits open at 3pm EDT with grandstands opening at 3pm, drivers meeting at 5:30pm and hot laps at 6pm.

Every Indiana Midget Week event will be streamed LIVE on FloRacing at https://bit.ly/3dgONXz.

Jun 3: Paragon Speedway – Paragon, IN
Jun 4: Bloomington Speedway – Bloomington, IN
Jun 5: Lawrenceburg Speedway – Lawrenceburg, IN
Jun 6: Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, IN
Jun 9: Circle City Raceway – Indianapolis, IN
Jun 10: Lincoln Park Speedway – Putnamville, IN
Jun 11: Gas City I-69 Speedway – Gas City, IN
Jun 12: Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, IN
3-Bryan Clauson
1-Rico Abreu, Brady Bacon, Spencer Bayston, Christopher Bell, Brad Kuhn, Kyle Larson,
Michael Pickens, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Kevin Thomas, Jr. & Tanner Thorson