Kokomo Klash Sunday; Stan Kalwasinski Recap,Photos

Kokomo Speedway
Kokomo, Indiana
October 21, 2018

Greg Johnson wins late model main during Kokomo Klash

—Nick Allen captures modified feature—

by Stan Kalwasinski

Kokomo, Ind., October 21—Losing Saturday evening’s program to rain, Kokomo Speedway hosted the makeup “Day Two” of its Kokomo Klash XII presented by Lane Automotive and QA1 Sunday afternoon.

With over 180 cars in the pits Sunday after some 230-plus registered Saturday, Greg Johnson (late models) and Nick Allen (modifieds) were feature winners in their respective divisions at the quarter-mile dirt track.

A field of 20 started the 25-lap late model main event with Johnson, the 51-year-old racer from Bedford, chasing leader Rich Bell until Johnson and Bell got together between turns one and two for a moment with Johnson and his Weinle Motorsports No. 17 shooting into the lead and never looking  back.  One yellow flag slowed the action with Johnson, a former crewmember for Steve Kinser’s sprint car effort, having a 1.314-second lead over Rusty Schlenk at the checkered flag.  Bell, David Hilliker, JR Hotovy and Chad Stapleton rounded out the top six in a race that saw 20 cars start.

“The track locked down rubber and I saw it coming real quick,” said Johnson, a veteran of 23 years who just got back into racing three months ago.  “I got by him (Bell) and set my pace.  Those lapped cars got pretty hairy.”

Allen, from Wheatfield, was the winner of the 25-lap modified headliner, winning for the first time in 2018.  Scoring his third career Klash victory, the 35-year-old speedster wheeled his Dan Lewis & Son/L&D Farms No. 21 to the victory, leading from flag to flag.  Allen had a 0.580-second lead at the checkered flag over a persistent Kevin DeYoung.  Dylan Woodling, Kyle Cooper, Ian Keller and Mike Vandermark completed the top six in the 22-car field.

“I was just trying to stay in the rubber pretty much and not tear the tires up,” Allen said after his win.  “He (DeYoung) was putting the pressure on there at the end.  I drove it in too hard once and I saw him under me.  I was trying not to make any mistakes and we held him off.”

Hailing from Brownstown, Jason Hehman won the 25-lap sportsman main event.  A field of 18 started the feature with Hehman defeating Nate Murphy, Doug McCullough, Justin Jeffries and Jeff Matheny at the finish.

The yellow-flag plagued 25-lap street stock feature race saw Winamac’s David Short score the victory.  Short bested Mike Vandermark, Jerrad Krick, Jon Rhodes, Derrick Hufford and Scott Hufford.  The final 25-lap feature race of the afternoon was for the Hornets (four-cylinder) division with Greg Garrison, from Bloomington, posting the win in his Acura RSX.  Logan Easterday flipped just passed the start/finish line at the checkered flag.  He was not injured.

Late Model Feature Finish:

Greg Johnson, Rusty Schlenk, Rich Bell, David Hilliker, JR Hotovy, Chad Stapleton, Scott James, Drew Wilkerson, Austin Burns, Bryan Clendennen, Steve Peeden, Chad White, Hillard Miller, Ryan Lanphierd, Phil Ausra, Steve Thorston, Cody Fultz, Glen Thompson, Mason Covey, Dean Huizenga.

Modified Feature Finish:

Nick Allen, Kevin DeYoung, Dylan Woodling, Kyle Cooper, Ian Keller, Mike Vandermark, Will Bennett, Brad DeYoung, Josh Lolmaugh, Kenny Carmichael, Beau DeYoung, Shawn Toczek, Steve Hogue, Lee Hobbs, Corey Bevard, Joey Iliff, Frank Marshall, Brent Hudson, Jim Mallory, Jamie Lomax, Roy Bruce, Jordan Wever.