Kankakee County SpeedwayPhoto GalleryPress Release

Kankakee Speedway 6-2-23 Stan Kalwasinski Photos/Recap

Parga captures Kankakee Pro Late Models Main

By Stan Kalwasinski

Kankakee, Ill., June 2—Making it 12 feature victories in 12 starts so far this season at various Midwest speedways, Jose Parga captured $2,000-to-win Romar Transportation DIRTcar Pro Late Models main event at Kankakee County Speedway Friday night.

Jumping from his outside front row starting position, Parga, the 25-year-old racer from New Berlin, Ill., led the entire 25-lap race and was in control all the way, taking starter Jim Whittington’s checkered flag with a 4.445-second advantage over Devin McLean and the evening’s fastest qualifier and last year’s track titlist Matt Hammond.  Chase Osterhoff, Torrin Mettille and Ben Kirchner rounded out the top six in the 20-car field.

“The track was great,” said Parga.  “I had my car hooked up for the outside (groove).  Maybe it was a little snuck for it.  All in all, we had a good piece.”

Mike McKinney, from Plainfield, Ill., used the bottom groove to his advantage and raced to victory in the 20-lap feature race for DIRTcar modifieds.  Jamie Lomax, 2022 track champion Steven Brooks, Frank Marshall and Jason Hastings chased McKinney to the finish line.

Austen Hubbard was the winner of the stock cars 20-lap headliner.  Hubbard bested Cody Clubb and Jerrad Krick.  Lee Joseph Hall won the 20-lap factory stock feature.  Hall got by early race leader Nathan Arterberry to score the win.  Hayden Lomax finished third.  Jimmy Dutlinger took home top honors in the 15-lap feature race for sport compacts.