Jeff Bland Jr. Takes the Checkers At The Red Clay of Bloomington!

Jeff Bland Jr. Captures Bloomington Sprint Car Main, Owens and Divine Victorious

By Kenny Clark

May 12, 2018, Bloomington, Indiana – Jeff Bland Jr. dominated Friday’s sprint car feature at Bloomington Speedway, scoring a comfortable win over Kody Swanson and Brady Short. Wheeling the Tom White & Company/Servpro sponsored Waltz 18w, Bland grabbed the lead from the pole and never looked back. Climbing from fifth to second, Swanson couldn’t catch Bland through the closing stages in the Rock Steady 3R, as Short took third, working past Stevie Sussex in the Burton 04. Jordan Kinser claimed fifth in the Hurst Brothers 70.

North Vernon’s Jeremy Owens scored his first UMP Modified feature victory, also after starting on the pole. Jordan Wever and Jeremy Hines chased the flying 00, but settled for second and third, followed by Kenny Carmichael and Jeff Deckard. Earlier, Chad Combs walked away from a spectacular barrel-rolling tumble through turn one at the start of the first modified heat race.

The third feature of the evening saw the third victory from the pole, as Josh Divine wouldn’t be caught in the Super Stocks. However, the racing was close as Wes McClara and Jason Hehman, a two-time winner this season, finished close on Divine’s heels. Jack Frye took fourth, with Brad Cummings in fifth.

Next Friday, Monroe Hospital employees will enjoy their second annual Night at the Track, with non-wing sprint cars, RaceSaver sprint cars and modifieds on the oval.

Bloomington Speedway
Results, May 11, 2018

Tom White & Company Real Estate Sprint Cars Feature (25 laps)
1. Jeff Bland Jr., 2. Kody Swanson, 3. Brady Short, 4. Stevie Sussexx, 5. Jordan Kinser, 6. Lee Underwood, 7. Brandon Morin, 8. Garrett Aitken, 9. Hudson O’Neal, 10. Jaden Rogers, 11. Hunter O’Neal, 12. Josh Cunningham, 13. Kevin Chambers, 14. Dave Peperak, 15. Jamie Williams, 16. Eric Perrott, 17. Bobby Griffitts

Heat races: Williams, Bland, Sussexx

AJ Bowlen Realtor with RE/MAX Acclaimed Properties UMP Modifieds Feature (25 laps)
1. Jeremy Owens, 2. Jordan Wever, 3. Jacoby Hines, 4. Kenny Carmichael, 5.Jeff Deckard, 6. Sam Wray, 7. Matthew Tiller, 8. Jay Humphrey, 9. Jason Clark

Heat races: Owens, Wever

Brandeis Machinery Super Stocks Feature (25 laps)
1. Josh Divine, 2. Wes McClara, 3. Jason Hehman, 4. Jack Frye, 5. Brad Cummings, 6. Steve Hollars, 7. Scotty Massie, 8. Chip Slagle, 9. Zach Sasser, 10. Steve Hawkins, 11. Tony Arthur, 12. Sam Arthur

Heat races: Divine, McClara