“High Atop the Rock” Sept. 21; Story/Photos by Rocky Ragusa

Speed Week
By Rocky Ragusa

58 Kart racers were in attendance this past Sunday at Bohmer’s Rt.66 Raceway. The Fourth Annual Bohm Memorial race was held in remembrance of Dale, Ronnie, and Randy Bohm, all members of the infamous “Bohm Squad”.

Kart racers had the opportunity to compete for trophies and several classes had money up grabs.

In the Baby Champ and Box Stock Wing classes, Pontiac’s Rydell Bohm was able to pick up her first career wins in each class. Fairbury’s Greysen Lawrence took his third win of the year in the Rookie race. Defending track champion and last year’s winner in the Bohm Memorial, Carlock’s Ethan Frye won the $74 first prize in the Jr.1 race. Odell’s Leo Cleary was the winner in the Jr.2 race. $122 went to Dalton City’s Logan Webb, who took his third feature win of the year. Kempton’s Jesse Small was the winner in the Jr. Predator class. $144 in the Clone 360 and Clone 400 went to Bradley’s Nathan Lynch. Sam Ingram received $122 for his win in the Predator class. Pontiac’s Billy Eaton got his second win in the Outlaw race taking $444. It was also his fifth overall win at Bohmer’s. In the featured 44 lap Clone 380 race, Pontiac’s Trevor Ringle defended his title and was awarded $1212.

The next race is scheduled for October 2 and the final race of the year will take place on October 16. Fans are encouraged to come out on a Sunday afternoon. The track is located on Rt.66 between Pontiac and Chenoa. You will see a sign where to turn at the track.


Ryan Unzicker took the MARSLate Model series win last Saturday at the Spoon River Speedway and extended his lead in the championship battle. For Unzicker,it was his first MARSwin of the year and fifth career. The MARS series will be racing at Fairbury Speedway on October 7-8.

MARS point standings 1. Ryan Unzicker 849 2. Jason Feger 816 3. Bob Gardner 595 4. McKay Wenger 594 5. Mike Spatola 488


Friday Racing

Kankakee County Speedway The season finale will take place this week as champions will be crowned. Pro Late Models ($1800 to win), Modified ($2000 to win),Stock Cars ($800 to win), Pro Mods and Factory Stock ($600 to win, Sport Compact ($300 to win), and Stock 4-Cylinder ($150 to win) will be racing at the fairground dirt oval. Gates open at 5:30 and racing at 7:30.

Pro Late Model 1. Matt Hammond 650 2. Torin Mettille 557 3. Amber Crouch 474 4. Austin McCarty 449 5. Ben Kircher 426

Modified 1. Steven Brooks 501 2. Jamie Lomax 396 3. Justin Gregory 342 4. Tom Pasek 327 5. Mike McKinney 320

Stock Car 1. Jerrad Krick 540 2. Shaun Wiltjer-Hunt 530 3. Zane Reitz 480 4. Cody Clubb 438 5. Steve Perkins 397

Pro Mod 1. Deece Schwartz 486 2. Mark Rhoades 470 3. Pete Argianas 377

Factory Stock 1. Lee J. Hall 555 2. Nathan Arterberry 428 3. Sheldon Oberle 421

Sport Compact 1. Cameron Maty 456 2. Evan Eckhoff 2. 416 3. Matt Minor 373

Saturday Racing

Grundy County Speedway The race season will conclude at the ⅓ mile paved oval with the Top Gun Enduro Series. 4-Cylinder car will have a 200 lap feature,plus a Five-O race to determine the fastest cop. Stands will open at 1:30. A meet and greet will take place from 1:30-3:00. Heat races for the police officers start at 3:30. The Enduro will begin at 4:30 and the Five-O race will end the night at 7. Adults and senior admission is $15, students 12-17 $5, and children 11 and under are free.

Macon Speedway The last night of racing on the ⅕ high banked dirt track will see racing in six classes. Gates open at 5, hot laps start at 6, and racing at 7.