“High Atop the Rock” Aug. 29th; Story/Photos by Rocky Ragusa

Rocky Ragusa
Rocky Ragusa photo






Speed Week

Since 1946 only seven driver have won three or more consecutive track championships at the Fairbury American Legion Speedway (Bob Carrigan, Sam Lee, Jack Tyne, Dave Porth, Joel Funk, and Scott Bull). Now Coal City’s joins the exclusive group by being the first ever driver to win three straight titles in the ultra-competitive Street Stock division. Of the 13 races held for the Street Stocks, Meiferdt made 11 races, with four wins, and 11 top five finishes.

“This year was a little different in our class,” spoke Meiferdt. “We didn’t have as many guys that were here weekly, like in past years. We missed a couple of races ourselves. We went chasing some money races in Indiana, but when we raced at Fairbury, we tried to make the nights count, and focus on winning races. We were fortunate to not have any DNF’s too. It is pretty cool join a group of great drivers like that. “

One of the mainstays in the CR Towing and Recovery Sportsman class since its inception is Chenoa’s Steve Mattingly. Mattingly has more than experienced his share of heartaches and heartbreaks in his 15 years of racing. For the 2018 year, Mattingly had a breakout year, winning eight features and being crowned the Sportsman track champion.

“It doesn’t seem real,” Mattingly said. “It really means a lot to me and my dad to finally get something that I never thought I would do. I had never won a feature until this year and now the championship. I watched Jimmy Felker, Gary Turpin, and Terry Worth win a lot of races and championships. They are all good friends of mine and to join them in that group is really awesome.”

Sportsman                                            Street Stock

1. Steve Mattingly 790                           AJ Meiferdt 700

2. Brandon Pralle 719                             Pete Odell 591

3. Amber Crouch 668                             Nick Seplak 557

4. Richard Craven 666                           Tanner Sullivan 502

5. Matt Ramer 638                                  Rick Thomas 490

6. Tyler Roth 614                                     Joe Brown 401

7. Mikey Ledford 544                             Cody Clubb 388

8. Valerie Hurt 540                                 Al Gray 382

9. Anthony Craven 519                          Matt Hammond 359

10. Eric Saltzman 288                           Don Hilleary 340


Friday Racing

Farmer City Raceway Extra money will be up for grabs for Late Model and Modified teams. The ALMS Late Model Series will have $5000 to win special. On the second night of a swing thru Illinois, the AMS Modified stars and cars will compete for a $3000 to win, payday. Pro Late Models and Street Stocks will also be on the final night of racing for the year. Hot laps start at 6:30, will time trials and the racing to follow. Kevin Weaver (Late Model), AJ May (Pro Late Model), Mike Chasteen Jr. (Modified), and Matt Maier (Street Stock) were crowned track champions for the year.

Grundy County Speedway Three nights of racing will be held at the 1/3 mile, paved oval. Friday will be a Fan Appreciation night with racing at 7. Saturday the annual Mazon/Grundy Hall of Fame ceremony takes place along with racing in the POWRi Midgets, Pure Stocks, and Super Cups. Sunday the track will host the 41st annual Night of Champions with racing in seven classes. Racing starts at 7.

Kankakee County Speedway Twins features for the Pro Modified drivers headline the program, with all classes in action. Racing will begin at 7:30. Torin Mettille picked up his eighth win in the Pro Late Model class. Mike McKinney took his seventh win in the Modified, Jason Maier (Street Stock) and David Lauritson (Sport Compact) earned their first wins, while Chris Tippit continued his hot streak by winning his 10th Pro Modified race.

Lincoln Speedway The season ends with a $5 admission for spectators. Modified, Pro Late Models, Sportsman, Street Stocks, Hornets, and Midgets will be in action on the final point night.

Saturday Racing

Fairbury American Legion Speedway Many of the top Modified drivers in the Midwest will be on hand for the 6th annual Casey’s Modified Nationals, presented by Wehrs Machine. Drivers be compete for a prize of $10,000, with 50 laps to settle the score. The race is sanctioned by the AMS Modified Series. Trent Young, the current point leader, will be joined by Josh Harris, Brian Shaw, and Lucas Lee as they contend with perineal favorites UMP point leader, Mike Harrison, Runner-up Mike McKinney, track champ McKay Wenger, and Jeffrey Ledford. Drivers not making the main race will have a chance to pad their pockets in the Mullins Race Engines Shootout, with $500 going to the winner. Track champion, Kevin Weaver and Scott Schmitt will look to end the winning ways of Mike Spatola in a $3000 to win, Late Model slugfest. Hot laps start at 6, with qualifying, and racing to follow.

Macon Speedway Ladies will be admitted for $5 as seven classes will be in action. Hot laps start at 6 and racing at 7.

Peoria Speedway The Midwest Street Stock Championship Series will be featured this week, along with a regular weekly program. Hot laps start at 5:30, with racing at 6. Charley Hess (Modified), John Gardner Jr. (Late Model), and Tyler Gilmor (Street Stock) were among the feature winners from last week.

Sunday Racing

Fayette Co. Speedway The AMS Modified Series will conclude their sweep thru Illinois with a $5000 to win special. B-Mods, Street Stocks, and Hornets will compete for added money. The ¼ high banked clay oval is located at the fairgrounds in Brownstown. Hot laps will start at 6 and racing will follow.

Spoon River Speedway A Modified driver will have a chance to take home $5000 in their special event. With $3000 going to the winner, one driver will be given the chance to start in the rear of the field. If they move to the front and win, they will receive an extra $2000. Late Models, Midgets, and Hornets will be also participate. Hot laps start at 6 and racing at 7.