Grundy County Speedway 8-12; Goodaker VL Photos/with recap

Hoffman scores Grundy Late Model Main Number ‘149’

By Stan Kalwasinski

Morris, Ill., August 12—Seven-time track champion Eddie Hoffman was being kept away from victory lane so far this season until Friday night when the veteran racer captured the 30-lap late model stock car feature at Grundy County Speedway.

The Wheaton, Ill., speedster wheeled his Feece Oil Co.-sponsored Chevrolet No. 8 to the win, holding off a challenging Larry Schuler, another veteran of the Grundy stock car wars, in the closing laps.  The victory was Hoffman’s 149th career feature win at the third-mile, paved oval, where he won his first feature win in 1996.

Hoffman held the lead with fast qualifier Schuler in pursuit with the two drivers running in tight formation as starter Greg Kuntz’s checkered flag waved.  Hoffman had inherited the top spot after 12 laps were complete when Wes Griffith Jr. and Jim Weber tangled as they battled for lead, bringing out the yellow flag.  Division points leader DJ Weltmeyer finished third followed by Scott Koerner and James Gregait.

Division points leader David Einhaus was the winner of the 25-lap sportsman main event.  Einhaus posted his second win of the year, scoring the victory in front of Marqus Hoover, Cody Clubb, two-time division champ Kevin Murphy and Jeff Wakeman.

James Dean posted his second feature win of the campaign, winning the 25-lap street stock headliner.  Dean bested last year’s track champion Scot Gardner.  Chad Bayuk, points leader Scotty Gardner and Rick Dawson rounded out the top five.

Katie Hocking was a winner for the first time this year as she won the special 30-lap main event for the four-cylinder pure stocks.  Top division points man Johnathan Stevens, Trevor Starek, Dan Schmeissing and Ethan Wolf finished behind Hocking.

Coming from deep in the starting field of 18, JoJo Fadke drove to victory in the 30-lap Cpl. Christian Smith Memorial race for Midwest Super Cup Series competitors.  Starting 14th, Fadke raced to the front, battled with Rob Baaske for the lead and went on to score her second victory at Grundy this season.  Baaske finished second followed by five-time feature winner Jacob Senerchia, Carter Appleton and Connor Kosowski.