Lincoln Park SpeedwayPress Release

Geoff Ensign Rips The Top At LPS To Put It In Victory Lane

By Kenny Clark

Saturday night at Lincoln Park Speedway we were down to just 2 regular shows to end the season before our 2 big Wing shows.  The Non Wing heroes had 21 entries and the fast times in their groups were Frank Guerrini, Tye Mihocko and Harley Burns.  With a heat invert of 4 that did not slow down Frank Guerrini at all as he came from 4th to win the 1st heat over Mitch Wissmiller, John Sluss and Jesse Vermillion.  Heat race 2 Tye Mihocko showed his speed also as he came from 4th to win his heat in the 24P over Nate Mcmillin, Kyle Johnson and Tyler Miller.  The final heat Geoff Ensign in the Gass 17 won it from the outside front row over Brayden Fox, Seth Parker and Harley Burns.  This setup the A main and the spin for the invert was a 6 which put Brayden Fox and Nate Mcmillin on the front row.  These 2 had a good battle early with Brayden on the bottom and Nate on the top.  The 17 of Ensign was on his move from 4th through and would overtake both of the front row starters and took the lead.  At the halfway point Geoff was looking really strong and Brayden Fox was really good on the bottom.  They diced through lapped traffic and also we were watching Harley Burns who had made it from 12th to 5th.  The final 10 laps Geoff would stay strong on the cushion and would pick up the big win in the 17 Gass Motorsports car over Mitch Wissmiller, Brayden Fox, Harley Burns and Tye Mihocko.  Thanks to all the sprint teams who put on a great show.


   The UMP Mods had 19 entries and the fast times in their groups were Tyler Loughmiller, Wes McClara and Derek Losh.  The invert was a 2 and Tyler would win the 1st heat over RT Gamble and Jake Leitzman.  Heat race 2 was won by Scott Carrington over Dustin Bruce and Ethan Boomsma.  The final heat was won by Derek Losh over Jeff Deckard and Matt Mitchell.  This setup the A main with an invert of 2 which put Scott and Tyler on the front row.  The mods still have some great battles in the track points and UMP State and national points so every position is important.  The early battle between Scott and Tyler was good but the 21 Derek Losh was on the move from 3rd and would take over the top spot.  Derek would go on and take the 20 lap event with Jeff Deckard, Tyler Loughmiller, Scott Carrington and Jake Leitzman rounding out the top 5.  Also thanks to HARF for 2 hard chargers for the sprints and mods with Harley Burns and Wes McClara both getting the hard chargers. Congrats to Derek for another win and he is now 3rd in national points which is a very impressive year.  Thanks to all the mods for another great show with 1 week to go for them.


  The UMP Super Stocks had 11 entries and the 2 fast times were Chris Bennett and Justin Massie.  Ryan Freeland would win heat 1 over Wade Goodale and Chris Bennett.  Larry Raines would win heat 2 over Nick Kinnett and Justin Massie. The invert for the A was a 3 so Wade and Larry got the front row.  Larry would be strong on the cushion and keep the streak going as he took the 20 lap main event over Justin Massie, Wade Goodale, J.D. Nash, Ryan Freeland and Travis Heramb.


   The Bombers had 14 entries and the fast times in their groups were led by Megan Cavaness and Cameron Carrington.  The invert for the heats was a 1 and Megan would win her heat 1 over Jordan Almanza, Cody Tate and Randy Foxworthy.  Cameron would win the final heat of the night over Joey Raber, Corey Anstead and Brad Davis.  This would setup the 15 lap A main with an invert of 3 so Jordan and Cameron were on the front row.  Cameron Carrington was really strong during the 15 laps and would win his 2nd feature in a row in commanding fashion over a strong field.  Cameron was followed at the finish by Jordan Almanza, Corey Anstead, Cody Tate and Megan Cavaness.  The Bomber division will definitely be the class to watch next week as Joey Raber is leading the points by 1 over Megan Cavaness and both drivers have had a great year coming down to the final night.  Thanks to all our teams and fans who came out for another great Saturday night at LPS.


Next Saturday is the final regular season night where we will crown or 2023 champs.   We would also remind everyone Friday October 6th is the opening night of the Maverick Wing Series and October 10th is the High Limit Series at LPS for their final points night.  Should be 3 great shows still at LPS and we hope to see all our great fans there to finish out the 2023 season.