Fairbury Speedway Thursday POWRi Midgets; Recap/Photos by Rocky Ragusa

Wise, Weisser, Heck Fairbury Fair Feature Winners
By Rocky Ragusa

Fairbury, Ill. (8/15/19) After rain washed out a July date at the Fairbury Speedway, the Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget League returned on Thursday night as part of the 143th edition of the Fairbury Fair. Gracing victory lane were Zeb Wise (Midgets), Allen Weisser (Modified), and Aaron Heck (Pro Late Model).

Outside front row starter, Wise (Angola, IN.) survived two cautions before the green flag wave before taking the lead in the 30 lap race. Threading his way on the high banks of Fairbury, Wise jumped out to a commanding lead, as Tyler Courtney and Logan Seavey trailed. Courtney quickly erased a straight away and slide jobbed Wise for the lead with six laps to go. A caution flag fell, nullifying Courtney’s pass and Wise returned as the race leader. On the restart, Wise pulled away as Courtney had his hands full with Seavey looking to move up in the running order. Following a caution with two laps to go, Wise smashed the load pedal, running away from his competition, and scored his second career POWRi win. Seavey overtook Courtney for second in a hotly contested battle, while Tanner Thorson, Zach Daum, Robert Dalby, Tucker Klaasmeyer, Jesse Colwell, Tanner Carrick, and Cannon McIntosh completed the top ten.

With 27 POWRi drivers on hand, three heat races were held. Thomas Meseraull (San Jose, CA.), Courtney (Indianapolis, IND.), and Dalby (Anaheim, CA.) took the wins. Klaasmeyer (Paola, KS.) was the semi feature winner.

The 25 lap Modified race attracted 23 entries for their $1500 to win contest. Point leader, Allen Weisser (Peoria) earned fast time honors with a lap of 13.951. Weisser, Danny Schwartz (Ashmore), and Jeffrey Ledford (Pontiac) took the wins in their heat races, while Jay Ledford (Pontiac) advanced to the feature by winning the semi.

Pole sitter Weisser, used the bottom of the track to his advantage by leading on the start. On the trail to unseat Weisser, Mike Harrison, Schwartz, and Jeffrey Ledford gave all that Weisser could handle in looking to make their way to the front. On a lap 14 caution, Harrison had a left front tire go flat, ending his night. Schwartz and Ledford put up a fight for the lead, before Weisser was able to pull away in the closing laps and took his seventh Fairbury win of the year. Schwartz, Ledford, Steven Brooks, Jim Farris, Kyle Hammer, Austin Lynn, Michael Ledford, Nick Clubb, and Dan Rork rounded out the top ten.

A field of 24 Pro Late Models signed in for their $500 to win, 20 lap special. Chase Osterhoff (Kankakee) claimed quick time at a lap of 13.676. Jose Parga (New Berlin), Dakota Ewing (Warrensburg), and Torin Mettille (Cullom) won heat races and Tony Thoennes (Normal) was the semi winner.

Tied for the lead in the UMP DIRT Car national points, Aaron Heck (Mt. Vernon) and Ewing challenged each other till the last lap of the feature race. In his first ever appearance to Fairbury, Heck was able hold off Ewing and take a hard fought win. The remainder of the top ten were Parga, Mettille, Bobby Richey, Chris Dick, Blaze Burwell, Roben Huffman, Michael Marden, and Sam Halsted.

The speedway will return to action this Saturday night with a FALS Cup weekly program and racing in five classes. An early starting time will have hot laps/time trials at 5:30 and racing will begin at 6:30.