Carson Short Wins Wilmot Season Opener

As the calendar turned from April to May the Bumper to Bumper Interstate Racing Association rolled into the Wilmot Raceway for the second night of the season and the Johnny Reimer Memorial.

Wind would be the main talking point all afternoon as track crews fought gusts of nearly 50mph while preparing the track for a night of racing. Once cars finally took to the 3/8th mile oval the conversation switched to who would emerge victorious with perennial favorite Bill Balog not in attendance, as he has moved to racing full time with the All Star Circuit of Champions.

It was the veterans of the series who started the night strong. Mike Reinke behind the wheel of Bob Hood's 10w set quick time while Scott Biertzer and Scotty Neitzel picked up heat race wins. On a night honoring a 3 time IRA Champion and 6 time Waukegan Speedway Champion, it was the longtime competitors of the series showing their strength.

Heat race 3 saw the tide turn for the young guns though as 25 year old Carson Short rebounded from a terrible qualifying effort and charged from dead last in the heat race to win it in dramatic fashion taking the lead in the last corner. Blake Nimee and Sage Fruit Top Apple Rookie of the Year contender Kyle Schuett picked up the dash wins, putting two young stars of the series on the front row of the feature event.

Blake Nimee took the early lead and looked to have the car to beat. Nimee's speed was no surprise as the SRF Painting and Staining Team is made up primarily of team members who helped Tommy Sexton win numerous races and a championship at the Wilmot Raceway. As the race wore on it seemed as if Blake Nimee's set up went away and Carson Short was there to take advantage. Short powered around Nimee and never looked back, earning his 2nd career IRA Sprints victory over Jake Blackhurst and Danny Schlafer.

The Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprints return to action on Saturday May 8th at the Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, Wisconsin. As always if you can’t make it out to the track, every race in 2021 will be live on Flo Racing!


A Feature Presented by Bumper to Bumper Auto Parts and Service Centers
 A Feature 1 30 Laps | 00:27:48.144
1. 21-Carson Short[4]; 2. 39-Jake Blackhurst[3]; 3. 25-Danny Schlafer[6]; 4. 2W-Scott Neitzel[7]; 5. 73-Scotty Thiel[5]; 6. 5J-Jeremy Schultz[9]; 7. 79-Blake Nimee[2]; 8. 12-Corbin Gurley[15]; 9. 4K-Kris Spitz[17]; 10. 9K-Kyle Schuett[1]; 11. 65-Jordan Goldesberry[12]; 12. 12W-Josh Walter[14]; 13. 23-Russel Borland[8]; 14. 19B-Jack Berger[13]; 15. 4TJ-Brian Kristan[11]; 16. 4-Bailey Goldesberry[16]; 17. 14R-Sean Rayhall[19]; 18. 68-Dave Uttech[18]; 19. 43-Jereme Schroeder[20]; 20. 45-Matt Wiese[23]; 21. 4B-Scott Biertzer[10]; 22. 70-Chris Klemko[21]; 23. 29L-Brayton Lynch[22]; 24. 39D-Mike Decker[24]

Dash 1 4 Laps | 00:02:17.554
1. 9K-Kyle Schuett[2]; 2. 39-Jake Blackhurst[1]; 3. 73-Scotty Thiel[3]; 4. 2W-Scott Neitzel[4]; 5. 5J-Jeremy Schultz[5]
Dash 2 4 Laps | 00:08:01.113
1. 79-Blake Nimee[2]; 2. 21-Carson Short[3]; 3. 25-Danny Schlafer[5]; 4. 23-Russel Borland[4]; 5. 4B-Scott Biertzer[1]

Heat Races:
Heat 1 Presented by 10 Laps | 00:13:33.000 |
1. 2W-Scott Neitzel[3]; 2. 9K-Kyle Schuett[2]; 3. 4TJ-Brian Kristan[5]; 4. 10W-Mike Reinke[4]; 5. 19B-Jack Berger[7]; 6. 4-Bailey Goldesberry[8]; 7. 14R-Sean Rayhall[6]; 8. 45-Matt Wiese[9]; 9. 20R-Rob Pribnow[1]; 10. (DNS) 29-Hunter Custer
Heat 2  Presented by All Star Performance/AutoMeter: 10 Laps | 00:05:16.000 | All Star Performance / AutoMeter
1. 4B-Scott Biertzer[1]; 2. 73-Scotty Thiel[4]; 3. 39-Jake Blackhurst[2]; 4. 25-Danny Schlafer[3]; 5. 12W-Josh Walter[7]; 6. 4K-Kris Spitz[8]; 7. 68-Dave Uttech[5]; 8. 70-Chris Klemko[6]; 9. 39D-Mike Decker[9]
Heat 3 Presented by Vahlco Wheels: 10 Laps | 00:08:03.000 | Vahlco Wheels / DMI (Diversified Machine Inc)
1. 21-Carson Short[8]; 2. 23-Russel Borland[2]; 3. 79-Blake Nimee[4]; 4. 65-Jordan Goldesberry[1]; 5. 5J-Jeremy Schultz[3]; 6. 12-Corbin Gurley[5]; 7. 43-Jereme Schroeder[7]; 8. 29L-Brayton Lynch[6]; 9. (DNS) 26-Al Schlafer

Qualifying Presented by Osborn and Son Trucking:  1. 10W-Mike Reinke, 00:13.409[18]; 2. 73-Scotty Thiel, 00:13.509[3]; 3. 79-Blake Nimee, 00:13.691[22]; 4. 2W-Scott Neitzel, 00:13.836[17]; 5. 25-Danny Schlafer, 00:13.944[19]; 6. 5J-Jeremy Schultz, 00:13.981[20]; 7. 9K-Kyle Schuett, 00:13.989[10]; 8. 39-Jake Blackhurst, 00:13.995[27]; 9. 23-Russel Borland, 00:14.046[16]; 10. 20R-Rob Pribnow, 00:14.081[7]; 11. 4B-Scott Biertzer, 00:14.142[25]; 12. 65-Jordan Goldesberry, 00:14.322[14]; 13. 4TJ-Brian Kristan, 00:14.499[5]; 14. 68-Dave Uttech, 00:14.596[24]; 15. 12-Corbin Gurley, 00:14.605[28]; 16. 14R-Sean Rayhall, 00:14.627[4]; 17. 70-Chris Klemko, 00:14.638[11]; 18. 29L-Brayton Lynch, 00:14.717[2]; 19. 19B-Jack Berger, 00:14.774[6]; 20. 12W-Josh Walter, 00:14.803[26]; 21. 43-Jereme Schroeder, 00:14.814[9]; 22. 4-Bailey Goldesberry, 00:14.896[21]; 23. 4K-Kris Spitz, 00:15.103[1]; 24. 21-Carson Short, 00:15.231[12]; 25. 45-Matt Wiese, 00:15.883[23]; 26. 39D-Mike Decker, 00:16.035[15]; 27. (DNS) 29-Hunter Custer, 00:16.035; 28. (DNS) 26-Al Schlafer, 00:16.035

IRA Sprints
 706 Green Street
McHenry, IL 60050

© 2019 Interstate Racing Association

Leave a Reply