107 Racecars in the pits at LPS Saturday; Recap/Results

Ricketts claims first career feature win at LPS

PUTNAMVILLE – Lincoln Park Speedway provided several drivers with another visit to victory lane while one driver was especially thrilled to make his first trip to the coveted front stretch destination.

Josh Litton (bombers) won his ninth feature of the season and Derek Groomer (UMP Modifieds) won his eighth feature of the season at LPS. AJ Hopkins piloted his No. 4j sprint car to victory lane for the sixth time. But the most excited of all of them was Scott Ricketts, who was able to hold off a hard charging Wes McClara to win his first career UMP Super Stock feature.

Ricketts took the lead from outside the front row and was locked in out front of the 20-car UMP Super Stock field. He had his hands full down the stretch however as McClara used a late restart and some lapped traffic to close within striking distance over the final five circuits. McClara nearly pulled even with the Cory, Ind. driver when the two got into lapped traffic before a caution re-set the field. When the green flag flew once again, Ricketts maintained a steady hand out front as McClara and Matt Jordan ran close behind. On this night however, Ricketts was the top man and held off McClara by a car length to pick up his first victory. Afterwards, an understandably excited Ricketts dedicated the victory to his uncle, Gary Ricketts, who passed away just prior to the 2018 LPS season.

Jordan remained in third-place at the finish line ahead of Larry Raines and Doug McCullough.

Thirty-five sprint cars were in the pits this weekend and it was Worthington’s Jadon Rogers starting on the pole alongside Travis Spencer. However, the early leader became Colten Cottle as he rocketed to the top spot over the first half of the feature. He would open up a solid gap over the first five laps as Hopkins gave chase ahead of Rogers, Tim Creech and Shane Cockrum. But a red flag came out as Thomas Meseraull got upside down in turn four.

On the restart, Cottle held onto the lead, but Hopkins had designs on stealing the lead as he was hammer down around the top of the track.

Hopkins would make a lap 15 pass moments before a caution came out to put Cottle back out front briefly. However, on the next restart, Hopkins got a big run into turn one and took over the lead and would not look back. The Brownsburg native pulled away to win by nearly a straightaway over Brent Beauchamp, who started 18th. Cottle would fade late and eventually pull to the pits as Cockrum came home third ahead of Matthew McDonald and Travis Berryhill.

Jordan Wever started on the outside of Brent Hudson on the front row for the UMP Modified feature. It was Wever that got to the front first and opened up a small gap by lap five. Groomer had positioned himself in the second spot at that point as Hudson was holding off Rob Brickert and James Walters with Jimmy Hayden running sixth.

By the halfway point it was Wever and Groomer running tightly before Groomer carried some top side momentum into the lead just after a lap 12 caution. He would hold that lead for several laps before contact with Wever spun him in turn two. Wever was sent to the back of the field for the incident and pulled to the pits.

On the restart, Groomer pulled away over the final few laps to win feature number eight as Hudson captured the runner-up spot ahead of Walters, Brickert and Richie Lex.

In the bomber feature, Litton got to the front by lap five as Joseph Raber started on the pole alongside Chad Steinert. Once Litton took over the point, he opened up a sizable enough gap that Jordan Almanza was not able to overcome after getting to the second spot on lap 10. Litton was able to stay out front for the final five laps to claim his ninth victory this season. Almanza, Joseph Raber, David Wallen and Cody Wright wrapped up the top-five.

This Saturday will be the final points night of the season with sprints, modifieds, super stocks and bombers on tap.


Lincoln Park Speedway

Sprint car feature

1. AJ Hopkins, 2. Brent Beauchamp, 3. Shane Cockrum, 4. Matthew McDonald, 5. Travis Berryhill, 6. Jadon Rogers, 7. Nate McMillin, 8. Josh Cunningham, 9. Tyler Hewitt, 10. Troy Link, 11. Brian VanMeveren, 12. Travis Spencer, 13. Tim Creech II, 14. Kevin Studley, 15. Brady Ottinger, 16. Billy Cribbs, 17. Colten Cottle, 18. Brandon Morin, 19. Alec Sipes, 20. Thomas Meseraull, 21. Cole Ketcham

B-main winners: Berryhill, Meseraull

Heat winners: Creech, Cottle, Rogers, Cunningham, Spencer,

UMP Modified feature

1. Derek Groomer, 2. Brent Hudson, 3. James Walters, 4. Rob Brickert, 5. Richie Lex, 6. Jake Leitzman, 7. Jay Humphrey Jr., 8. Carlos Bumgardner, 9. Jeff Deckard, 10. Dan Anderson, 11. Casey Davis, 12. Tyler Loughmiller, 13. Jordan Wever, 14. Will Bennett, 15. Jimmy Hayden, 16. Boomer Houk, 17. Justin Clodfelter, 18. James Grider, 19. Aaron Pace, 20. Dan Lewellen, 21. RT Gamble

Heat winners: Brickert, Walters, Groomer

UMP Super Stock feature

1. Scott Ricketts, 2. Wes McClara, 3. Matt Jordan, 4. Larry Raines, 5. Doug McCullough, 6. Bryce Shidler, 7. Randy Brawley, 8. Austin Phelps, 9. Ken Kelley, 10. Paul Wright, 11. Brandon Saunders, 12. Justin Massie, 13. Gene Barnett, 14. Shelburn Meeks Jr., 15. Chris Bennett, 16. Hayden Rogers, 17. Jack Cambpell, 18. Michael Clark, 19. Michael O’Conner, 20. Nick Kinnett

Heat winners: Phelps, McClara, Jordan

Bomber feature

1. Josh Litton, 2. Jordan Almanza, 3. Joseph Raber, 4. David Wallen, 5. Cody Wright, 6. Chad Steinert, 7. Tom Cox, 8. Matt Raber, 9. Megan Cavaness, 10. Ethan Litton, 11. Jim Litton Jr., 12. Andrew Pollock, 13. Corey Anstead, 14. Frank Horvath, 15. Josh Foxworthy, 16. Jeremy Tate, 17. Glen Ogden, 18. Bob Farris, 19. Matthew Cooley, 20. Steve Smiley

B-main winner: Ethan Litton

Heat winners: Josh Litton, David Wallen, Almanza, Cavaness