South Bend Motor Speedway
South Bend, IN
Official Site

Quick Links

Free Classifieds

Writers Needed!

Custom Novelties
Highlighted Tracks
Driver's Stories
Team News
Meet the RaceStar
Custom Team Apparel
No Set Up Fees!
Sponsor Plaques
Advertise with us

RaceStar Home

Contact RaceStar

August 13th, 2016
Stan Kalwasinski Photos

Plymouth's Steve Stacy and his No. 95 captured the 40-lap outlaw late model feature race at South Bend Motor Speedway on Saturday night.  Stacy defeated Rich Boal and Charlie Hanna. 

Vern Sauer's No. 48 outlaw late model looks good during qualifying.  

Unfortunately, Sauer tangled with Scott Ross (1) during the 40-lap main event and hit the wall hard in turn three.  Kevin Sauer (24) tried his best not to get caught up in the melee.

Erv Starrett (12) races with fast qualifier Brian Ross (42) during the early laps
 of the outlaw late model feature race.

Plymouth racer Rich Boal, pictured here in his outlaw late model No. 22, leads the current late model point standings at South Bend Motor Speedway and is also
the sportsman division points leader at the quarter-mile paved oval as well.

Veteran Fred Malecki of Granger won the street stock division main event, winning the 30 lapper
 ahead of Ray Baer and Richie Nyari in the yellow flag-infested event.

Fred Malecki (12) Danny Brown Sr. (97) and Frank Fairchild (9) battle
 during a street stock heat race.

Danny Brown Sr. and his No. 97 street stock grabbed division fast time honors
but got torn up in the night's feature race and did not finish.

Richie Nyari (32), Doug Fox (44) and Tommy Burke (7) race for position
 during the street stock feature.

It's three-wide during the first Midwest Mini Cup heat race of the evening.

Battling for the lead, Jaden Cretacci (11) is about to lose the top spot and the eventual victory to Tyler Minix during the closing laps of the 50-lap Midwest Mini Cup feature race. Minix, the division's fastest qualifier, needed a late-race caution to close in on Cretacci.

They go three-wide during a Hornets (four-cylinder) division heat race.

Matt Sullivan (19), Shawn Amor (28) and Ronnie Maynard Jr. (58) fight hard for position
during the 30-lap sportsman division feature race.

Eventual race winner Cory Pressler (32X) works his way inside of Ronnie Maynard Jr. (58)
during the 30-lap sportsman feature race.

They get a little ''crossed up'' during a Front Wheel Drive (four-cylinder) division heat race.

I just have to say it, ''You picked a fine time to leave me loose wheel.''

Mike Kushnerik (24) races the inside groove while eventual winner Eryn Hartz (13) tries the high side during the 20-lap Front Wheel Drive  (four-cylinder) division feature race.  Hartz currently leads the division's point standings.  Kushnerik, who comes from Oak Lawn, Ill., to race, was last year's four-cylinder champion at the now-closed Illiana Motor Speedway.

Part of South Bend's track crew takes a ride around the speedway before the evening's racing begins. 
Once racing starts, these guys get pretty busy.