Rockford Speedway
Rockford, IL

Official web site:

Quick Links

Free Classifieds

Writers Needed!

Custom Novelties
Highlighted Tracks
Driver's Stories
Team News
Meet the RaceStar
Custom Team Apparel
No Set Up Fees!
Sponsor Plaques
Advertise with us

RaceStar Home

Contact RaceStar

51st Annual National Short Track Championship
Oct 1, 2016
Stan Kalwasinski Photos

Casey Johnson poses on the victory podium after he won the Big 8 '108' presented by Powersource Racing Engines late model stock car special at the Rockford Speedway (Loves Park, Ill.) on Saturday night, which was part of the 51st annual National Short Track Championships.  A previous winner this season in Big 8 Late Model Series competition, Johnson, of Edgerton, Wis., is joined by Jody Deery, the Chief Executive Officer of the speedway.

Casey Johnson and his No. 5 on their way to victory.

Leader Michael Bilderback (2) is about to lose the lead to Casey Johnson (5).

Last year's Rockford Speedway late model track champion, Jake Gille and his No. 35 led a good part of the race
 until giving up the lead to Michael Bilderback. 

As the race wound down, Jake Gille, who was running third, crashed hard into the tire barrier outside of turn three, destroying his car.

A multi-time track champion at the Rockford oval, Bobby Wilberg (28) battles Michael Ostdiek (18)
 during the early stages of the Big 8 Series headliner.

Matt Lundberg and Mike Lloyd (21) get tangled up bringing out one of countless yellow flags that peppered the event.

Veteran Jerry Gille (99) races Adam Peschek (66).

Patrick Bruns, of Champaign, waves to the crowd after scoring the win in the 30-lap feature race for Illini midgets.  Over the years, Bruns has been the dominant force in midget competition during Rockford's annual National Short Track Championships weekend.

Patrick Bruns steers his No. 10 entry to victory.

Jordan Caskey (3) and Scott Koerner (55) battle during the 30-lap midget headliner.

Kyle Stark, of Marshall, Wis., wheels his No. 192 on his way to victory in the Midwest Dash Series main event.

Kyle Stark (192) passes Tom Berens for the lead during the Midwest Dash Series feature race.

Wisconsin's Pat Heaney drove his 1966 Chevelle to victory in the Illinois Vintage Series feature race.

A scene that was played out several times during the day at the Rockford speed plant - trucks drying off the quarter-mile paved oval after being dampened by persistent rain showers.