ARCA/CRA Super Series


Quick Links

Free Classifieds

Writers Needed!

Custom Novelties
Highlighted Tracks
Driver's Stories
Team News
Meet the RaceStar
Custom Team Apparel
No Set Up Fees!
Sponsor Plaques
Advertise with us

RaceStar Home

Contact RaceStar

Jeff Cannon and Brian Campbell - winners at ARCA/CRA Fall Brawl
ARCA/CRA Fall Brawl
Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis
September 25, 2016
Story & Photos by Stan Kalwasinski
Brownsburg, Ind.-Jeff Cannon and Brian Campbell, along with Terry Fisher Jr. and Austin Coe, were winners at the annual ARCA/CRA Fall Brawl stock car racing event at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis Sunday afternoon.
Hailing from Kouts, Cannon, a four-time late model track champion at the now-defunct Illiana Motor Speedway, captured the Stacked Pickle 100 for ARCA/CRA Jegs All-Stars Tour competitors, posting his first career series victory in his Govert Racing-owned, Govert Auto Body/Schepel Buick-sponsored Chevrolet No. 33.
Fifth fastest qualifier on Saturday at the 0.686-mile paved oval, Cannon started fifth in the 28-car field and made his way to the lead on lap 16.  Running in the top spot, Cannon's charge to the checkered flag was slowed by six yellow caution flag periods, making the 37-year-old driver work hard at holding on to the lead after the numerous double-file restarts.  Cannon kept holding off the repeated challenges of Trey Craig during most of the race and then by series points leader Cody Coughlin during the final nine laps or so.
Pulling away during the last few circuits, Cannon scored the win with a 0.945-second margin ahead of Coughlin, Chad Pendleton, Nate Walton and Phil Bozell.  Craig came back to finish sixth after spinning out with 10 laps to go as he chased Cannon for the lead.  Dakota Stroup, Brandon Oakley, Ben Welch and Joshua James rounded out the top 10.
''15 (Trey Craig) was there,'' Cannon said.  ''He was strong.  He was better in (turns) three and four than me.  I knew if I could maintain down in (turns) one and two, I would be able to make it up there and make it stick.  Then I saw the 1 car (Cody Coughlin) behind me.  I thought maybe my days were numbered.  He raced me cleaned.  It was a fun, but hard race.  It's an awesome day. 
 ''He (Coughlin) is good and he knew what I was doing all day (on the restarts).  He caught me on the tail end of it and got by me.  I knew he was going to drive it off into (turn) one so I made sure that my car would turn in the center and drove off of him.  I thought I would get him back in turns three and four.  Man, it was close.  I dived bombed it in there and let it roll up the track.  My spotter was yelling, 'clear, clear, clear' and it was over from there.''
Brian Campbell, of Wyoming, Mich., took home top honors in the ARCA/CRA Super Series Wish for Our Heroes 100, which was the final race of the afternoon.  Campbell scored his third series victory of the season and his 21st career victory in convincing fashion with a 4.114-second margin over Dalton Armstrong with Wes Griffith Jr. coming home third. 
The final 10 laps saw a tight battle between Griffith, Chris Hacker, Coughlin and Jordan Pruitt as the foursome swapped the third spot several times before Griffith took advantage of the low groove and claimed the spot with Hacker getting inside of Coughlin for fourth with Pruitt finishing sixth.  Brett Robinson, fastest qualifier Travis Braden, Jones and Justin Oertel made up the rest of the top 10.

Starting on the inside of the front row of the 17-car field, Andy Jones, making his first series start, led the first 11 laps.  Armstrong came to the front and he and Campbell exchanged the lead several times before Campbell took over the lead for good on lap 35 on his way to a strong, winning performance in his Lakeshore Motorsports-owned, Senneker Performance/Boyne Machine/Merritt Speedway-sponsored Chevrolet No. 47.

''We were pretty confident on old tires,'' said Campbell, who was the sixth fastest qualifier. ''I thought we would have qualified a little better than we did.''

Terry Fisher Jr., from Fort Wayne, claimed top honors in the Riley Hospital for Children 40 for CRA Late Model Sportsman racers.  A veteran of CRA racing wars, Fisher defeated fastest qualifier and another CRA veteran Eddie Van Meter.    Van Meter's son, Billy, finished third, followed by Keith Lyons and Tony Dager.

Fort Wayne's Austin Coe raced to victory in the CRA Street Stock headliner - the BJ's Restaurant Brewhouse 40.  Coe dominated the entire race and finished ahead of Phil Jenkins and Chuck Barnes Jr.  Coe is the grandson of former Fort Wayne area racer, Bob Coe, who passed away at the age of 82 on Friday.


All four Fall Brawl winners give it their best ''Rocky Balboa Pose'' after scoring victories in their respective divisions during the ARCA/CRA Fall Brawl at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis (Brownsburg, Ind.) Sunday afternoon.  Winners included...

Jeff Cannon -ARCA/CRA Jegs All-Stars Tour Stacked Pickle 100

Brian Campbell - ARCA/CRA Super Series Wish for Our Heroes 100

Terry Fisher Jr. - CRA Late Model Sportsman Riley Hospital for Children 40

Austin Coe - CRA Street Stocks BJ's Restaurant Brewhouse 40

Jeff Cannon poses with his Govert Racing crew after his victory.

Jeff Cannon (33) and Cody Coughlin (1) battle for the top spot in the closing laps of the ARCA/CRA Jegs All-Stars Tour race.

Jeff Cannon on his way to victory in the ARCA/CRA Jegs All-Stars Tour Stacked Pickle 100.

Cody Coughlin wheeled the same yellow No. 1 in both ARCA/CRA races.

Chris Hacker (4) and Wes Griffith Jr. battle late in the race during the Wish for Our Heroes 100 lapper.

Brian Campbell on his way to victory in the ARCA/CRA Super Series Wish for Our Heroes 100.

Brian Campbell (47) works his way by Dalton Armstrong (4) for the lead.

Making his first series start, Andy Jones led the early laps of the ARCA/CRA Super Series 100 lapper.

Terry Fisher Jr. and his No. 28 on their way to victory in the CRA Late Model Sportsman Riley Hospital for Children 40.

Austin Coe and his No. 28 were winners of the CRA Street Stocks BJ's Restaurant Brewhouse 40.

ARCA/CRA Super Series 100 lapper action finds Wes Griffith Jr. (7) working his way underneath Justin Oertel (99).

Billy Van Meter (23B) races with Tony Dager during the afternoon's CRA Late Model Sportsman headliner.

Veteran CRA driver Eddie Van Metter (23) finished second in the CRA Late Model Sportsman 40 lapper.

Dalton Armstrong (4) passes Andy Jones (11) for the lead during the ARCA/CRA Super Series Wish for Our Heroes 100.